Bank loan

8 officials out of 18 sentenced

Visakhapatnam: A CBI Special Court has convicted 18 people including 8 civil servants and 10 borrowers for defrauding Sree Anantha Grameena Bank (renamed Andhra Pragathi Grameena Bank) out of Rs 13.21 lakh.

Second Additional Special Court for CBI Cases, Visakhapatnam, Venkata Ramana sentenced the accused to one to three years rigorous imprisonment and imposed a fine of Rs 2.9 lakh.

Employees of Sree Anantha Grameena Bank, Peddapappur branch in Anantapur district had entered into a criminal conspiracy with borrowers and tax officials. They abused their official position as public servants and paid out crop loans to fictitious people by accepting bogus and falsified income records. The accused caused a loss of Rs.13,21,000 to Andhra Pragathi Grameena Bank.

Three officers, G Obulesu (Branch Manager, D Dakshinamurthy (Advance Officer) and Ch Basava Raju (Clerk) were sentenced to three years’ imprisonment. A retired Mandal Revenue Officer, SM Yousuf was sentenced to two years’ imprisonment. imprisonment and four panchayat secretaries were sentenced to two years in bank fraud cases.

The public having complaints about corruption in central government departments, PSUs, nationalized banks and government insurance companies and information about demand for bribes, accumulation of wealth disproportionate to sources of income known to officials please contact Superintendent of Police, CBI, Visakhapatnam in person, by post or via toll free number 1800 425 00100 or E.Mail ID: [email protected]Landline #0891-2783344, Mobile #9492783344.